Our Story
Located in the charming hamlet of Staatsburg along the Hudson River, St. Margaret’s is a welcoming and inclusive faith community in the Diocese of New York. We joyfully celebrate the sacraments of the Church every Sunday and affirm the rich traditions of the Episcopal faith.
At St. Margaret’s, everyone is accepted just as they are, without judgment. Our parish family values hospitality and strives to make all who enter feel at home. Rooted in Christ’s teachings, we are committed to serving those on the social and economic margins of society through outreach programs that support the hungry, the homeless, immigrants, and local schoolchildren in need.
We are also a community that treasures the beauty of worship and music, offering uplifting Sunday liturgies and occasional concerts that inspire the soul.
Whether you’re a lifelong Episcopalian, exploring your faith, or visiting the area, we would be delighted to welcome you into our church family. Join us at the corner of Old Post Road and East Elm Avenue, and be part of our mission to live out the Gospel with love and service.
History
The foundation stone for this building was laid by the Bishop of New York, Henry Codman Potter, on May 27, 1891. Prior to this building, and beginning in 1858, services were held in the chapel across the street — now the Staatsburg Library. That building was built by Mrs. Margaret Lewis Livingston, the mother of Mrs. Lydia Hoyt and was initially used by several religious groups in the village.
The present church, completed in 1892, was designed by the noted architect, Richard Mitchell Upjohn and is regarded as one of his best efforts. The cornerstone contains a Bible, the Book of Common Prayer, the Church Hymnal, the New York Tribune, the Poughkeepsie Eagle and a copy of the history of the parish. The stone was quarried near Staatsburg.
The original members and benefactors of the church were the leading families in the village — owners of the large river estates. Since the advent of the automobile, the closing of the railroad station, the loss of the Estate families, and the re-routing of Route 9 around the village, life in Staatsburg has changed considerably. However, St. Margaret’s church remains a central part of the life of the village of Staatsburg.
More information on the creation of St. Margaret’s can be found in The Churchman.
You can read it here.
Tour the stained glass
St. Margaret’s is noted for its stained glass. The origin of some of the windows is still uncertain, but there are two windows in the south west corner that are believed to be from between the 13th to 16th centuries. The windows consist of three panels each, the four darker panels with blue predominating are from Chartres Cathedral and contain four figures of Apostles: two being St. Peter with keys, one of St. Paul with the sword, and the fourth, St. Bartholomew. The panels represent a period of the 12th century. The remaining two panels in silver stain represent a period of the early 16th century and were originally installed in the beautiful church of Notre Dame de Brou in France. These windows were the gift of Ogden Mills of Staatsburg. His son, Ogden L. Mills, was a member of the Vestry of St Margaret’s and was a Secretary of the Treasury of the United States.
Who was Saint Margaret of Antioch?
There is a window in the north side of the church that depicts St. Margaret of Antioch, Mother Mary, and a unknown woman. It is believed that St. Margaret is our church’s namesake.
She is a 3rd-century Christian martyr celebrated for her steadfast faith, her deep compassion, and unwavering commitment to inclusivity. A noblewoman who chose to follow Christ, Margaret’s courage in the face of persecution became a powerful symbol of empathy and resilience.
In St. Margaret, we find a powerful example of inclusiveness and solidarity with those on the margins. Her life encourages us to create a space where all are seen, heard, and embraced, regardless of background or life experience. Through her example, we are inspired to build a community where the strength of diversity leads us to greater unity, understanding, and love for one another.
Music & The Chapman Organ
St. Margaret’s has a very special Chapman tracker organ that was installed in 1895 by its builder.
The organ was completely renovated in 1985 and is still used by the congregation to this day.